Women Of The Veil

Posted: March 7, 2011 in Poem's
Tags: , , , , , , ,


As’salamuAlaikum Wa RahmatAllahi Wa Barakatuhu

(Allah’s peace, mercy and blessings be upon you)


As you watch me wearing a veil,
Your wrapped in intimidation,
Boasting your “liberation”,
Thinking I’m dominated,
And I’m uneducated.

But let me tell you the truth,
I’m an intelligent person,
a person just like you,
Just wanting to get through,
With life,
No strife,
I have my own mind,
If you studied yourself you would find,
The Qu’ran states we’re all equal and Islam is my fortress,
So your constant stereotyping is just pointless.

So please stop demoralizing us,
In Allah we do trust,
And that is our goal, to please our Lord,
Enough with your claims, so absurd,
Forced? Subjugated? Oppressed? Just empty rumours from ignorant voices,
Our longing for heaven in the hereafter is the reason for our OWN choices.

The bitter reality you can’t face,
Is that you’re the ones in a corrupted race,
Always under pressure for your looks and charms,
Always in a hurry to be in the latest fashion,
Mini skirts and see-thru shirts, now that is repression!

You can’t even look past my scarf,
You make me laugh,
So why do you look at me so pettily?
The media and newspapers just judge shallowly,
You are mere humans like the rest,
Who are you to judge? Life is just a test!

Leave a Reply

